Pocklington Canal

Mrs madwill and I had a lovely walk this morning - along the canal towpath from Canal Head near Pocklington almost to Melbourne and then back again. 8.8 miles in total. The weather was good to us - cold to start with (had to scrape ice off the car before we set off) but it soon warmed up and was lovely and sunny.

Plenty of wildlife to be seen - ducks with 13 or 14 chicks, moorhens with half a dozen chicks, a couple of pairs of swans with nests and a couple of herons flying about. Some interesting locks and bridges in various states of repair/disrepair.

I only took my small camera as I was carrying the flask, snacks and waterproofs in my pack. My favourite shot is the view looking up the channel in the reeds, with the dog splashing around in the water. Great big fluffy clouds and blue sky. Taken with my phone!

We stopped in Pocklington for coffee and a cake afterwards…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.