Channel

You'd be forgiven for thinking this was a Blue-headed Wagtail but in fact it's a hybrid of the blue and the yellow now labelled the Channel Wagtail. The difference to me is slight - this has a more light/silvery grey head.

Having got the heads up on my phone that a male Channel Wagtail was to be spotted, it seemed like a good idea to try and track it down. It wasn't raining when I left home but it sure was when I got ten minutes into my walk and then it came down in torrents. Not being too sure of the actual bird itself I decided to shoot away at any bird even vaguely resembling a wagtail just incase and with the rain set in I hadn't time to linger around. Yes it was touch and go but having now done my homework I'm pretty confident this is a Channel. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.