The second half of life..

By twigs

Ready for winter

Today was put aside to prep and pack the van.  I've probably done only 75% of what I'd hoped but, with the sun having returned today, I've been easily distracted, though sadly, not much with the camera.  I had not one but two instances of a fantail flying in to my house today.  Fortunately, they found their way out without too much help from me.  I also had an encounter with one in the garage.......I was following him with the long lens on when he flew over and perched on a wire not 2 feet from my face........w-a-y too close to focus on so instead, I just lowered the camera slowly and talked to him gently.  He chatted back and we continued with  this for what seemed like ages but was probably only 15 seconds.  Now that was a special encounter!   This pic is roughly where the encounter happened and it seemed like a nice shot to blip in the absence of Mr Fantail himself.

Back then to prepping and packing the van which is also doubling up with prepping the home for a house-sitter.  It hardly seems like 2 minutes since I did this very same thing, though that was 3 months ago!  My, how the year is flying by.

Today marks the one-year anniversary of Minnie coming to live here and those who said it was never going to be 'just a 2-week adoption' were absolutely right!  She's come on in leaps and bounds since she first arrived and has become quite independent but still very affectionate.  She's also a bit of a mummy's girl, something I'm hoping the string of house sitters might help to break.  To date - and I say this touching wood - she has not caught a single bird or mouse, at least, not to my knowledge.  She sits and watches the birds quite often, but I have never seen her make a lunge for one.  I'd be very happy if things stayed that way.

OK - back now to some more van and house prepping before settling down to enjoy a good drama on TV.  I do love my Sunday nights :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.