The second half of life..

By twigs

Salt Mountain

I eventually managed to leave home a little after lunchtime but when time is a friend, schedules and plans don't matter so much.

Had hoped to get some drone shots over Lake Grassmere - the Kiwi one, not the UK one! - but unfortunately there was a bit too much wind. A pity as the sunlight was beautiful. The plan is to try again tomorrow morning around sunrise but it will of course be wind dependent. Staying tonight at Marfells Beach - a bit more remote than I had expected and cell coverage has been intermittent at best. I'll just cross my fingers and toes and wait and see what tomorrow brings.

It feels good to be out in the van once more though I've had pangs of guilt about leaving Minnie again.

This pic is the top of a salt mountain at the Lake Grassmere salt works. The salt harvesting is just about done for this year which means I'm unlikely to get the shot I'd hoped for, though I'm sure there'll still be some good shots to be taken. This is actually about the top half of one of the numerous salt mountains. They apparently sit just 20m high. I love that it looks just like a regualr mountain with the last of the day's sun illuminating its peak.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.