DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Cage the elephant

Omg, it’s soooooooo good to be home :-)

I was absolutely wiped out last night, so went to bed at 9pm and slept through until 6am. You can’t beat being in your own bed!

I feel like I’ve been dropped from a great height been there, done that, got the leg cage, everything aches, but on a positive note, they are only aches and not pains.

I also feel like I’m back to square one; it’s only a few days since I was merrily walking round the house without crutches, now I’m slowly hobbling with every step.
Luckily I’ve got Mr A, always the optimist, who has said not to dwell on what I can’t do and remember how far I got. Once all the swelling subsides, I know what I need to do to get moving and I will get there again.

I mentioned while I was in hospital that the splint I got from them originally doesn’t really fit me anymore since the bottom ring of the cage was removed. ‘No problem, we can make you another’.
As you can see on the photo, the one on the right is my original one which is moulded beautifully to the shape of my foot. The left (new one) is beautifully moulded for the pet elephant I never knew I had!
The splint has to be worn overnight and is designed to pull and keep my foot in a neutral position and prevent it from dropping. If I don’t wear the splint, my recovery (and physio) will be much harder as the ankle will always want to stay in the dropped position.
With a bit of help from Mr A (and scissors), we’ve managed to use the foot support of the old splint with the straps of the new splint and have made a much better job than the person whose job it was in the first place!

Thank you to everyone for all of your hearts, stars and comments over the last few days. You know I usually reply to each one individually, but I’m beat at the moment, so here’s a group hug instead :-*

DQ x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.