Sharp

Another sharp blue morning. Our potter was down to meet meles and DaveH at the Merchant Navy memorial, in honour of their friend and erstwhile blipper Ogatodomar. We also met their friend Mel, and Sassy the puppy. She’s in the extras. Quite a convivial little gathering, and it gave us an opportunity to take a much closer look at the Merchant Navy memorial which is much more interesting than I had given it credit for.

I took loads of pictures of sharp reflections and big boats (when we extended our wander down to the docks and back). As usual, even though it was chilly, there were lots of people sitting around being convivial.

I cooked some sort of smoked salmon pasta dish for dinner, featuring kalettes, which I found in the cheap box in the supermarket (obviously not a popular choice for the burghers of Cannonmills, although I must confess I’ve never seen them before, so possibly they were neglected because people didn’t know what they were). I thought they were delicious, despite their close relationship to the Brussels sprout, of which I am not really a fan. I’d certainly buy them again, and this time try roasting them. Over dinner, we were discussing the possibility of taking an indulgent short break just after the stay local restriction is eased. We’ve not proved very good at making the most of travelling in the locality, for a variety of reasons (mainly fear of things being overcrowded). So, probably what we need is the shock to the system of going somewhere completely different for a couple of days. A plan has been hatched.

As yesterday, the bright blue morning seems to have resolved itself into intermittent snow showers, although these didn’t really reach Leith on this occasion. But I’ve seen lots of snowy blips today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.