Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Starling #40

More Jay watching this morning, but they didn't seem to like the cold weather much and were not visiting so often. We had a couple of starlings visit the table to scoff all the mealworms and I thought they looked nice in the sunshine. I saw a post yesterday showing how to distinguish between the sexes which I had not known before. Apparently, the base of the beak is the give-away. If it has a blue tinge it's a male and a slight pink tinge and it's a female. I think this one is therefore more likely to be a male. I did see them together and it does seem that there is a difference. Pink for a girl and blue for a boy - who knew?!

Zoomed with the in-laws this afternoon and now settling down to watch the golf if I can stay awake long enough. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.