Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Ramadan approacheth

Today marks ten years that my family woke up to the news that my Dad's life had been tragically cut short by a reckless driver. It's the kind of news no one wants to receive. I'd like to properly record all the things that happened somewhere but not here. G & I would have visited his grave today but thinking through things properly, tomorrow is the better day. Unlike other cities, there are only two cemeteries for Christian burials here and the one that my dad is in is really far away.

We marked the day with a Zoom call with my sisters and later, a favourite meal of his. We also organised some flowers for tomorrow.

As for the day - I popped into Mall of the Emirates after dropping G off. A friend gave me a voucher for my birthday and I needed to sort it out. Whilst there, I popped into their Carrefour which was at the other end to where I parked. My blip is taken in the central dome area which is decked out for Ramadan. I think it needs to be seen/photographed in the evening.

The sharp-eyed amongst you might spot the Apple logo on the left. This is the Apple store which I tried to enter to enquire about an iPad Air. They have bouncers (yes, really - the kind you see outside a nightclub) asking if you had an appointment. I didn't. I was then asked if I was there to shop. (???!!!) People without appointments had to queue to get in. I was shown where to stand. I waited thirty seconds and then decided I really didn't want to visit this Apple store.

I picked G up with a McDonald's meal. We had to eat very quickly to be in time for the call with my sisters. In the end, we joined from my phone as G drove us home. They got to see a bit of Dubai!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.