Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Madera Canyon: Day 5

I am finally posting for the last day of my trip to Madera Canyon. (You can see all of my bird photos from my trip beginning on 6 April)

After I checked out of the casita, I stayed for a while, hoping to get something fun.  I think this dive bombing broad-billed hummingbird does the trick. The really odd thing about the photo is that he doesn't appear to be going in for the nectar. Looks more like he's taking aim at a rival.  As is almost   always the case, this looks really good in LARGE. I'm also putting up a Gould's turkey, which was walking past my porch.  Hope you like these closing shots.

Before I left, I had an ashiatsu massage.  Ashiatsu is a barefoot massage technique that requires the therapist to use their feet while she holds onto bars hanging from the ceiling. It was awesome.

As the weather heats up, I will be taking more day trips to the mountains so don't be surprised to see something every now and then that looks Madera Canyon-ish. In the meantime, I can't stay away, so it will be another month of pinching pennies before going back the end of May. 

Before I left, I guessed that the grizzly prickly pear cactus would be blooming.  I was right.  Looks like a variety of cactus flowers will be in my immediate photographic future  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.