Goodbye to Angie....our last photo together

Angie lost her battle with dementia and is no longer with us in body. She is still my best friend, the sister I never had, and will live on for me in the memories of everything she was and the amount of time, always happy, that we spent together, several times a week. Endless hours laughing and sharing, over endless cups of tea and picnics on the beach. She was always a delight to be with even after the cruel disease took over and she only barely recognised who I was before I moved away. Shortly after that she fell, had to be hospitalised and then moved to a nursing home. Tragic for her husband and family and even more so as the pandemic hit, visiting was stopped and she no longer recognised any of her loved ones. Her husband was with her at the very end to hold her and say goodbye and he feels she knew it was him, a small comfort for a huge loss.
I've cried many a tear over the last year knowing her torment with no one to hug. Now I feel sad for her family but happy that she no longer is trapped in a world just in her head, as her speech had gone and Angie was a talker!!
Finally her mind is at rest and she will sleep in peace and we will all find peace in the life and the love that we shared with her. Love you Angie x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.