carliewired

By carliewired

Beside the Bow River

Stones are worn smooth and
ice covers the shallows. In 
the shade snow remains

~ carliewired

I was up and out before 7:30 for groceries. It was -3 C and I had to scrape the windshields. The sun was tuning up the sky. It was promising a lovely day.

I drove the short distance into Fish Creek Provincial Park so I could walk to the edge of the Bow River. Before I was married, I lived a year in the Rocky Mountains near this river. It has long held an interest for me.

Today, there were gulls, Canada geese and one eagle waiting for me. The eagle was being harassed by the gulls and he was protesting when they got too close to him on his perch. 

The Bow River is holding its cold. It comes out of the Rocky Mountains and eventually empties into the Hudson Bay many, many miles away to the east. Here in Calgary, it features beautiful views and much wildlife. I think I will be spending as much time here as possible. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.