By the Boat Launch - South Thompson River

There's lots of action
on the river this morning-
dogs and boats abound! 

~ carliewired

I peeked out at 6:30 when I thought there might be some colour of note, but I was disappointed and rolled back into bed. I was up at 9 AM thinking I'd best make use of the morning. It's been chilly overnight, getting down to 1 C. The sky was brightening and it was encouraging me to get out there and blip! 

I first stopped to gas up my truck.( We're at $1.85/litre at the moment.) Then I was off across the bridge to Pioneer Park on the south shore. 

I parked near the entrance so I could walk down to the boat launch. It proved a good choice today as there was a great deal of activity there. Some people were carrying their crafts back up to the paddle club's location as I was arriving. I walked down to the river's edge just in time to see some boaters working their way upstream. Several were paddling with a great deal of energy. The river is low and calm right now. They were followed by a speedy little boat that was there to keep an eye out for problems. The driver was dressed very warmly as the air was still rather cold this morning. I looked east up river where I could see to the water intake and to the Yellowhead highway. I was interested in the two padded chairs on the farshore and I wondered about the story behind them. They looked rather cozy on the white sand. 

I walked back up the boat launch and into Pioneer Park where I could get a view of the Red Bridge. I left my quilted heart on a bench overlooking the beach where the dogs like to run.

I was feeling the press of time this morning as I was late leaving the house. I grabbed a late breakfast at the drive-thru then started for home. 

I picked up my car insurance on the north shore. I want to get my little red bomber on the road this week. I was home by 11:30 and expecting my daughter to arrive for lunch.

We have a day of mixed sun and cloud. The temperature high expected is 9 C. We are warned we could see snow flurries overnight. Uck! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.