53 F/ 12 C

It was a morning
of musical chairs - without
a bit of music!

~carliewired

I was headed across the bridge to the hospital at 8 AM. Having no family doctor, I'd been encouraged to get myself in the que at the emergency ward to get what answers they could give me. 

As I neared the hospital I was noticing cars with snow on them coming into the city. The upper elevations of the city had received a snowfall overnight. Thankfully, that was not in my part of the city. 

I  drove around to the back of the hospital and picked a handicapped parking space. I plugged the parking meter on the way in. I wound my way through the various hallways and stopped at the red chairs by the intake window.  The process for intake was not clear to me at all, even reading the signs all over. The two people ahead of me filled me in. 

I took a red chair facing the intake window alongside the two already there. I sat down and waited. Someone would come to the sliding door and usher the next three people into reception. We three were called in to take seats, then one at a time, we were admitted. When we each had a wristband, we moved down the hallways passed people on gurneys to emergency where we found another set of chairs. 

I got called for an ECG almost immediately. That took just a few minutes. I was directed to follow the hall to another set of chairs, this time for the x-ray department. When done, I was sent to another alcove with more chairs to wait again. 

I was called to sit in a big blue chair for my bloodwork. That was fast and easy. I was then sent around the corner to join others  who were waiting for an examining room. 

Through the process I got chatting with other patients. It is always encouraging to interact with others who are facing uncertainty and 'stormy weather'. People are kind, encouraging and understanding. 

I was not an 'emergency' in the truest sense, so I had to wait to finally see a doctor who'd analyzed my test results. I'd lost track of how many seats I'd occupied this morning. The best was the one where I could put my feet up. 

The most important seat in the ER was held by a young woman who orchestrated everything! She sat on a high chair with five wheels to monitor every activity on her computer screen. She directed and communicated with grace and efficiency. I've always said, if you doubled a nurse's salary, it would not be enough compensation. 

I was discharged just after 1:30 PM. I was getting hungry and I was a bit afraid that my car would be towed or ticketed before I returned to it. As I walked back through all the hallways all the seats were filled along the way. I imagined this is what I'd see in a refugee camp. How is this healthcare?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.