Roundup

Cowboys and cowgirls
move cattle to their summer
pasture on the ranch

~ carliewired

I was first up at 6. When I took a quick look out my windows I decided I might as well go back to bed. There was no possibility of a sunrise this morning. 

At 7:30 I was up again thinking I had better get out there for my blip although I had no real plans. I left the house at 8 AM heading west to drop off my quilted heart at Vantage Point. (The four for this week are all in purples. It's a short week so there's only the four.) I left the heart on a fence post and travelled on towards Tranquille where I could see some blue in the otherwise grey sky.

When I drove up to Cinnamon Ridge, I could see a distinct white spot on the slope above the train tracks. I had kept my eye out for big horn sheep and here was one all alone on the hillside. I scanned the hill carefully for more as they are herd animals, but I couldn't find more. 

I drove on further west to discover that the spring roundup was underway near the wetlands pond. The Frolek Ranch was gathering up the mamas and this year's babies. There were cowboys and cowgirls working on their horses. Some were dressed the part with chaps and Stetson hats, but some were just trying to keep warm in ski jackets and toques. It was -1 C and not the most pleasant morning for weather. 

The mamas were bawling and the calves looked confused. They were being moved up close to the road where a cattle truck came in to collect them. When spring run-off starts, most of this pasture will be underwater again. The cattle will go to their summer range. It will be a whole new experience for these calves when they ride in the cattle truck. I got some photos of the action, then headed for home. The cattle truck was just arriving as I was leaving. 

I'm home for the day as usual. I will fill my crockpot with lemon garlic chicken and enjoy the aroma until it's ready. 

We have a day of mixed sun and cloud with a high of 9 C. The rest of this week looks much the same. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.