Westsyde Centennial Park

It was a short walk
along the north river and
by the petting zoo

~ carliewired

I was up sipping coffee before 6. I suddenly looked up from my laptop to see the sun coming up. I hurried out onto the deck. It was a chilly 0 C with light wind. I decided to dawdle with my coffee until things warmed up a bit. 

I needed to drop off a baby gift to a friend in Westsyde who's recently been blessed with her first grandchild. I didn't find her home, so left the package in her mailbox and a message on her telephone. 

Since I was already in Westsyde, I thought I could stop at Westsyde Centennial Park on my way home. There's Little Farmers Petting Zoo near the entrance and access to the Rivers Trail along the North Thompson River. I thought I could have a look at both. 

The sun was shining brightly by the time I drove into the park. I walked the fence line of the petting zoo. The goats are the star performers here. A mother and her small son came along as I was taking photos and we had a chat. There are also some exotic birds. I found the peacock with his hen and a large turkey performing for his lady. 

I had to get my winter coat and toque out of my truck before walking up to the Rivers Trail along the dike. It was just too cold to be comfortable without them. 

I've never walked this portion of the Rivers Trail before. It gave me a view of the profile of Mt. Paul and a good look north as well. I discovered the dog park beside the river and left my quilted heart on its fence. 

The park has natural areas along the river. I caught woodpeckers in action. The Northern flicker  was making calls while he attacked a dead cottonwood tree. The Pileated woodpecker with his red crest, was drumming away on another dead tree. 

I was home again by 9:30. I hope to be out with my daughter this afternoon. Otherwise, it will be another quiet day for me. 

We have a mix of sun and cloud today with a high of 9C. We are back to freezing overnight for the next few days. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.