A Chilly Sunrise

All I need is one
colourful sunrise to make
my day magical

~ carliewired

My daughter and I were up after midnight talking over tea. I convinced her to settle in for the night rather than drive home. We turned off the lights and retired to our beds.....two hours later we were up having hot chocolate as we couldn't sleep. I don't know what time I fell asleep, but the light woke me just before 6. I grabbed my camera and headed out the door to Vantage Point. 

It was clear and a chilly -3 C when I parked near the float plane dock. I had the area all to myself. I looked to the east to catch a before picture. I looked over the railing to see a pair of common mergansers cruising by the dock. They are definitely the 'odd couple' of the duck world. He sports his black and white 'tuxedo' while she presents in her dowdy housedress and frizzed rusty hair. They sailed off together through the dock's pilings. I caught the first rays over the mountains and started for home. I left my quilted heart on a fencepost near the dock. My day is complete already! 

I've returned home with a breakfast sandwich and a very large coffee. I have a day of running errands. I will lose my daughter's company today as she has her own obligations. 

We have a mix of sun and cloud with the prospect of a sunny Easter weekend. The high today is expected to be 10 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.