Good Friday, Good Grief!

An otherwise good
weekend can be spoiled by some
annoying neighbours!

~ carliewired

I was out on my deck catching some early morning light at 6 AM. The sky looked very promising. It was -2 C with just a few clouds to make it interesting. 

When I finished my coffee I was off to Tranquille with a stop for my drive-thru breakfast on the way. I was hoping I might see some big horn sheep but a very, very long freight train was parked quietly along the hillside. There's no chance to see any wildlife there. The end of the train had stopped so close to the railway crossing that the gates were down and the red lights were flashing. I noticed that the local traffic coming out of the Red Lake area were doing a zig zag around the gates and ignoring the warning. That can't be good. 

I drove on to the spot where I can see Tranquille to the west and overlook the cattle pasture and the wetlands. Everything looked bright this morning. There are only a few cattle left in the pasture now after the roundup. The pond in the wetlands is expanding slowly. Today there were a couple of swans and some Canada geese there. I drove up to Tranquille Farms to turn around at their gate so I could catch a view of my mountains to the east. I was home again just after 8. 

My very annoying neighbours have scheduled a garage sale for today and tomorrow. They advertise online and in our local paper. They post bold signs in the neighbourhood and attach balloons to them.(To add insult to injury, I notice these balloons have come off and are sitting in the weeds by the road.) My frustration with them is now several years old. They would like to make a business of this endeavour but at the expense of the neighbourhood. They move two of their vehicles onto the street to accomodate their merchandise set up in the carport. This further clogs the cul de sac and their efforts bring in needless traffic. I have to contend with their customers trying to use my driveway and even parking across my driveway. The neighbours sit back and do nothing to manage their traffic. Their merchandise is collections of whatever that they have gathered up to sell. I keep tabs on their performance and report it all to the city's business license department. The neighbours have been visited by this department and they have received letters to control their actions. So, here we go again! 

I will need to call my auto club to get my Prius started and on the road today. The poor thing has sat in the garage for too long. That will be my project this morning. Once it is running, I'll go for a long drive. 

We have a day of mixed sun and cloud with the possibility of showers this afternoon and a high of 11 C. It is warming up this week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.