Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

C is for Cardinal...

And for calm, which is how I am trying to remain after just learning that my surgery, scheduled for this Friday, has to be rescheduled.  Talk about feeling like you just got a gut punch!  After getting my cardiac clearance from the cardiologist this morning, I was just waiting on a call back on getting a covid test.  And so when the phone from the surgeon's office rang, I pounced.  Unfortunately, it was to tell me that the radiologist is not able to clear her schedule for Friday so the whole thing has to be rescheduled - surgeon, radiologist, surgical suite, anesthesia, etc.  And it is likely to be at least a day before I get a new date.

I went into a grand funk for a short while, but I am feeling better now.  A few weeks isn't going to make a difference.  But like anyone with cancer, I want it out sooner than later. Anyway, I broke into a bar of dark with chili and had not one but TWO squares.  Medicinal, you understand.

Some time in the hide netted me some nice shots today.  There was a light drizzle which made the light perfect for shooting into the cherry tree which is covered in white blossoms.  And since I hadn't yet posted a female cardinal for my visual yard bird record, I thought this would be a good shot.  She's lovely, isn't she?  The bright red males get most of the attention, but I think the females are gorgeous in a more delicate way.

I got some post-surgical bras in the mail today - the first order had to be returned because they didn't fit right.  These are perfect and super comfortable.  No interior seams and a front closure.  The ladies out there will understand the importance of these features.  And they can also double as work out undergarments, so there's that.  

I think I will curl up now with a cat and a book.  I'm reading a Stephanie Plum novel at the moment - very light reading that doesn't require a lot of thought.  

Stay safe, people.  The virus is still out there and it's still looking for places to land.  Be kind, to yourselves and to others.  And chocolate...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.