Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

B is for Blending

Definitely our cutest woodpecker, the tiny Downy Woodpecker, a female in this instance.  Amazing how once she landed in the cherry tree she pretty much disappeared.  When you look at these woodpeckers against a solid background you wonder how they aren't all picked off by predators - but then you see them land in a tree or on a tree trunk and you realize that those cryptic black and white markings allow them to blend in really well.

Today was gone before I knew it.  I had a nice chat with my parents this morning who are enjoying their brand new Subaru Forester.  They took it on a trip out to the OR coast yesterday to get some highway miles on it (it's only 3 days old).  The rest of my day was spent in various holding patterns waiting to talk to my surgeon via video.  

I finally talked to the surgeon at 4:30 - after being rescheduled from noon to 3:30.  She was in surgery today and apparently things ran much longer than she expected.  So she called me from the hospital, still in her surgical scrubs - and took time to answer my rather long list of questions.  The first request I had was for her to give me a detailed description of the surgery - I am one of those people who needs lots of information.  Happily I have a surgeon who isn't afraid to give it to me.  Anyway, now I have a lot more information that I had this morning, lots of things to think about.  And hopefully in the next day or two I will get a new surgery date.  

I also got the most delightful surprise in the post - a beautiful little box of rich dark chocolate with creamy ginger centers!  Thank you to blipper Legacy for the delicious treat.  The centers are just a wonderful burst of ginger - delectable.  Thank you, Carol.

Several phone calls from friends checking in and one from my fellow cancer traveler, who is scheduled for her surgery end of the month.  Hubs cooked dinner since I was busy gabbing on the phone - I planned that well, didn't I?

Tomorrow I'm meeting up with the my birder friends for a hike at the Refuge.  Should be lots of fun and a good distraction.  Just trying to keep myself busy.

Stay safe.  Be kind.  And today I am definitely recommending dark chocolate and ginger.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.