WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

* Chef's kiss *

So here are my sourdough baguettes, 36 hours later. I think they might be the best ones I've ever made, definitely worth the time and effort. We ate most of one of them with the ratatouille S made for lunch. No apologies today for yet another bread blip!

Later I made the brownies from my new book, using the leftover starter. They were a doddle to do, and they taste good, but they were too far along the cake spectrum for us; I prefer them dense and fudgy. They conform to the French idea of brownies, which are usually just chocolate cake baked in a square shape. So I can see why French people like them. And it's always useful to have easy ways of using surplus starter.

In further carb-based news, the pizza van is here! So that's dinner sorted :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.