Targets

Chalk and cheese. 

Today started badly, with coffee at 04:30. 

Faced with all the challenges a normal day would present on that footing, I came up with a plan. 

First, I spent 30 minutes on the phone with the Manager. She was still in recovery after 30 minutes on the phone with a colleague who is at the meltdown stage (again)* so the Manager needed me almost as much as I needed her. 

Then, I took back 2 hours which the Office owes me** and went out to deliver campaign letters. It was sunny. I got time outside and some light exercise too. 

I learned a couple of things. First, half the town seems to be smoking dope to get it through lockdown (not my half). Second, it is not easy to find the right house - or even the right street - while your facemask (compulsory for this activity) is steaming up your glasses. Then there are the garden steps to negotiate.

I survived. 

Later I phoned old friend Derek to get the Edinburgh angle on life. An hour on the phone with him is time well spent, even if most of it is taken up comparing ailments and suitable remedies. 


* Only the Boss and I have remained healthy throughout the last 13 months. 
** Any party political activity is strictly against the rules during Office time, but entirely our own business in our own time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.