Happy Ending

The crisis started with a huge thump on the window. I shot into the conservatory and saw a male chaffinch on the floor outside. Carefully picking him up, nursing him in my hands for a while I then popped him on the branch of a shrub however on turning round I saw his mate on the floor. 

Double catastrophe. He must have been chasing her with spring in the air and they both missed seeing the glass. Nursing her for a while I popped her close to her beloved and thought it might be best to leave them to it in the sunshine having checked that there were no predators in the immediate vicinity.

Coming back outside a few minutes later he had gone. She was there with her wings outstretched and I did wonder if my kestrel couple might have been watching all the while. Giving her a strict talking to about the dangers of sitting there she actually flew away. I was so chuffed. What happened to him I can only guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.