Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

The Killers

An unhappy day as first thing when topping up the bird feeder I saw feathers which I didn't recognise as being wild. 

Hurrying over to the chicken compound there were feathers everywhere and those I certainly recognised - the first being one of my favourite ones my Bluebell, always out there foraging, beautiful egg layer and cracking all round chicken - headless. Many more feathers and I did a quick head count of the very upset, flustered and frightened ones left. One I found in the nest box so all good there and we had eight left in total. 4 down. Walking the boundary electrified fence a few times it wasn't obvious at all where he'd got in either. 

Ringing Hubs about the disaster we worked all afternoon trying to sort the situation and only came late on to the conclusion that they had to be moved from their preferred roosting spot to the house with an enclosed run. Just for now. I knew the foxes and we have many would be back. We think the timer on the house had left some of the chickens outside in the pen and certainly one had jumped it possibly. 

My squirrel taking advantage of the topped up feeder which I'd actually forgotten I'd taken!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.