The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

The Pink Hotel

... at least that's what my grandkids call it.

(backblip - but not by much)

Yesterday's "Needful Thing" was a drive down to Tampa for a my semi-annual "let's look inside and see what's going on" session for the transplant team, this time around an MRI.

It was a beautiful day and we parked over by the DeLeon Hotel (no, the Stingray isn't mine) and walked to the hospital.

Coming up on the 9th anniversay of my transplant surgery, this particular "Old Florida" landmark on Davis Island has some special memories for us.

Built back in the last century by Davis Island's namesake, it was a small suite hotel for well heeled tourists from the north who took the train for a Florida getaway. It's present owners offer reasonably priced accomodations for long term stays for family members and patients of the hospital.

Connie stayed here while I was in the hospital and there was enough room in our unit for members of family to join us to help during the month after my discharge when I couldn't be more than half an hour away from Tampa.

To say I'm grateful for the love of my life, the Divine Ms Connie, that the Pink Hotel was available to us, for the skill and support of the transplant team, and for the willingness of family to be there when we needed them most would be more than a bit of understatement, so everytime I'm wandering around Davis Island with my camera ...

Btw - I just got a message through the patient portal (ain't technology grand) - the MRI test results showed "no change". Lord, I love those words.

... and (you know I'm going to say it) the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.