a lifetime burning

By Sheol

A grand Day Out

Cathy and I had a trip out to a National Trust property together today, not something we've done for a while.  While Cathy works 3 days a week the real reason for our inertia has been lockdown and the need to book visits in advance.  We just haven't really been very good at getting ourselves organised. Its shameful really :-)

Still, today we went to Stourhead, and had a nice leisurely walk around the grounds following their one way system.  I entirely understand the need for the regimentation, but I do wish we were free to just wander around wherever we liked at our leisure :-)

The earliest of the rhododendrons are just starting to flower and I suspect that in a fortnight it is going to start to look wonderful.  

There were some patches of brief sunshine through the clouds, and when they arrived they really lifted the place, and it suddenly started to sparkle whereas it had been rather drab before.  Sadly there were not that many of them.

Cathy uploaded her iPhone shot of this view first, unedited straight out of the phone.  I try to avoid blipping the same thing if I can, but today this was the best shot that I took so I didn't have much of a choice.  This shot is not straight out of the camera and I have done my best to bring out the attractiveness of the scene.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.