Blackbird in the Mini Meadow

I've been tipping a mouse out of the sunflower seeds every morning this week.  I release him/her near the wall so that s/he can avoid the local cats, but apparently mice have a good homing beacon, so s/he has managed to get back to the glory box and in to my 'rodent proof' birdfood container!

Today said mouse was foiled as I had blocked up the chewed hole with an old hinge I found when I cleared the store room in readiness for the British Gas Chappy arriving to service the central heating this morning.  He arrived (the BGC, not the mouse) on the dot at 08.30 and quickly found a couple of faults in addition to the one we knew about.  Now we know why the heating and water have been far too hot, and our bills have been very high!  In the midst of his coming and goings, the Waitrose delivery arrived .  I can't recall the last morning when we were so busy.  We were glad when the Engineer flicked on the heating to check the radiators as the house was Arctic from all the windows we had open to ensure the ventilation re. Covid.

We waved goodbye metaphorically to both chaps and decided we had earned our mid morning cuppas early, normally we wait till Popmaster.

After lunch everything had warmed up outside so I mowed the grass whilst Tony planted the herbs we bought yesterday, then he disappeared to the allotment for more wall building whilst I prepared the veg for dinner.  That done, I was off down to the village to meet up with the Hobblers.  Someone mentioned the moor!!  It's a long way up to the top of the moor from the village so the hobble was pretty physical, but really enjoyable in good company on a lovely evening.

The blackbirds really enjoy hopping around the mini meadow, not sure why.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.