Joy

This is my maternal Grandmother playing the violin age 12-14? She was born in 1906.
She was an exceptionally talented musician destined for stardom but gave it up for love, her parents hired Dorothy Slack to play piano while she practiced violin and she fell for her brother Edgar, he was 21 and she was 14, he waited 7 years and then they eloped and her parents cut off any musical support, she had had the best teachers and had been to the Royal Academy of Music, she later told me that the next 7 years of her life were some of the hardest, she was lost without her music..... However the family soon came along and also the war and in the end she was married to Edgar very happily for 50 years and lived on till she was 95 20 years after his death.....
I was very close to her, I really loved her, she was an exceptional person, a deep thinker, a true artist, very spiritual and open minded with an infectious laugh and a great sense of humour. RIP Joy xxxx

I have spent the day in Brighton with my Mother, we went through a tonne of old theatre memorabilia, she went to RADA and toured professionally as an Actress for a time prior to getting married, we also went through loads of old Christmas cards and Birthday cards and photographs, a nostalgic day, it was nice to hear the stories about her past and sort out what was worth keeping, lots more to do....

I started my day with a sunrise yoga class at 8.30, I love the teacher Carolyn, she is such a kind intuitive lady with a very earthy spirituality, I really look forward to it!

Happy Birthday to my Dad, just spoke to him, he is having a lovely week away in Cornwall with his wife.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.