Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Birthday Girl

When we rescued Piper while visiting in Minnesota, it was 9 years ago today that the three of us left for home.  Secondhand Hounds (the rescue) told us she was about a year old but didn't have a birth date, so this date has been her designated birthday.  That makes her about 10 years old.

She and I had a rough night last night, though.  She woke me at 3 AM after having vomited several times.  I let her out and she ran to the backyard.  I am grateful that she woke me in time for that!  Then she wanted to stay outside on the deck, so I put her bed outside for her and I stayed in the living room where I could hear her if she wanted back in.  The vet thinks it was probably a reaction to her leptospirosis vaccine.  

She's really lethargic today so she wasn't interested in posing for her birthday portrait and I had to make the best of what I could get.  Her appetite is good, though, and she ate a bowl of unseasoned shredded chicken with white rice (per the vet's recommendation).  One nice thing is that her birthday wish came true, it's snowing!  We'll have enough by tomorrow for her to nest in. :-))  I really hope she has a better night for all of our sakes.

Thank you to everyone for your visits and stars and hearts on my blips.  I really appreciate all of them!  Sorry I haven't been keeping up with yours.  I hope to remedy that tomorrow! xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.