Moving to the front.

Ephemeral but immortal?
Sanguinaria Canadensis flora plena.  Having sought it out to be 100% sure of correct spelling I must admit to being a touch underwhelmed by the basic, single, wild(?) variety.
The immortal part is the number of years we've had it.  Since we bought it, in a pot about 3" diam we put this, or very similar, in near it.  it expanded to about a 2' clump and has since vanished entirely.

As Sanguinaria barely lasts beyond the week once in full flower, I thought I'd nip out for a shot.  It may not have been today's Blip - BUT - I spotted the inset further back out of camera range for the shot.  Retrospectively I'm wondering if I should have left it to see how it managed; another - BUT - chances are, if I go out not there'll be a "double fault".
1. I'll not find the shell.
2. If I did, I'd no longer get it back into position without severe flower damage.
* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *
ADDENDUM - me for the use of:-
I knew of the hepatica very close and 6' = 2 mtr from its parent - BUT - just spotted another  (centre shot) 1/2 that distance from parent.

: ¬ ( )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.