Drab?

The understated, dusky colours of Fritillaria acmopetala might easily be overlooked but I think it has a quiet beauty.   Roughly on a par size wise with the better known Snakeshead Fritillary, Fritillaria meleagris, this species can be successful in the open garden, liking drier soils than it's relative.   I raised this one from seed.

A busy day - when wasn't it?!!    Rebooked my Mum's second jab as she'll still be here then.   Another trip to Shrewsbury in a week when I have to bring Jamie back from Poole (a trip in the planning stage now,) make the four hour round trip to collect his new wheelchair and go to Aberystwyth for an eye test, four consecutive days of travelling.   Two turns at work where I want to finish the current paint job before we go travelling but I also managed a good stint in the garden.   Shade netting on the frames and a good chunk of the bed along the front of the house cleared of weeds - brown bin is almost full.   

Lots more to do tomorrow, we go away Tuesday.   A late decision to travel, Jamie can form a bubble with his friend A while I might get a few days respite away from all the jobs.   I've got a good book lined up just in case :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.