The Man Who

I have managed a lot of reading since January, almost all fiction. I went through a Jane Austen phase and loved it. Then I picked up on the Ishiguro novels I had not already read, followed by his new one. Then it was Women’s Prize time and I have now read 8 out of the 16 books long listed. I enjoyed them all, some more than others though. I may write about them later, as the short list will be announced in a week or so. 

Then I moved onto non-fiction and these are the current ones. 

To the Island of Tides is a book I read a few months ago and now Gordon has read it. It follows a journey to - and through the history of - the island of Lindisfarne from the Borders. A fascinating book that has given us many ideas for exploration in the near future. 

It links with:

The Man Who Gave His His Horse to a Beggar is a, lavishly illustrated with photographs, adventure following the footsteps of Aidan of Lindisfarne through Ireland, Scotland and the north of England. A brilliant book, read by freespiral and SpotsofTime, I really enjoyed it and again it has given me lots of inspiration for exploration. Places I know well, places I have always meant to visit and places I did not even know about. 

Threads of Life I have referred to before, as this was a re-read of a book I really like. It tells fascinating stories of how sewing has figured throughout history in many different ways.

This Golden Fleece is a book I should have got last year when it was published and reviewed, but I forgot all about it. It was only when Puffin mentioned it that I remembered it. Now I am reading it and liking it. I will focus on this interesting book later. 

Thanks to those Blippers who reminded me of books I had forgotten about and now love. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.