New Laptop

At last, after a long day of jobs, I found time to sit down and set up my new laptop. This was me when it started to talk to me!! My old laptop i bought in 2009 and had Windows XP. I've been trying to use it to do some writing, but it cuts out when it overheats, and the battery won't hold a charge.. among other things. It certainly didn't talk to me, so i was quite taken aback when this one did!!

Jon and I got up at 8 and were at the allotment at 9 with the rotavator, 6 sacks of horse manure, more broad bean plants and my seed potatoes. The ground was like rock. It was very hard work. Its been suggested that we should apply the 'no dig' method of vegetable growing. I have managing to hoe one thin bed, where I will plant most beans, but the square beds really are solid. Personally I am not strong enough to get a fork into the ground in these areas, so you can see how hard it is. Even if I jump with both feet on the fork, it goes nowhere. The rotavator also finds it hard. Jon tried to do one bed, gave up and dug through, then rotavated again. We spent 2 hours there. Home at 11 for coffee, brunch and a rest, pleased with our progress and the fact that we had managed to get one job done early.

The rest of the afternoon we spent in the garden. Then a trip to Homebase for cuprinol. When we get a dry weekend, we will paint the summerhouse in traditional summerhouse type colours. I chose one called Seagrass (light olive colour) and a light slate grey.

Cooked a roast ish dinner, and then sat down to set up my laptop. I love it already. I hope I am inspired to write lots!!

Call the Midwife which we love, and now bed. We have turned off our heating. Normally it has been off for a few weeks by now. I'm hoping it doesn't feel too cold in the morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.