Chilled out Saturday, Cromer

With a lie in until 9, and a leisurely morning just moving things around (tidying was the aim). Planted a few more seeds, but like most places, it was cold and rainy, so I didn't do much outside. It got me thinking about the virus. If we had atrocious weather for the next 3 weeks, people would definitely 'stay home'. It is what we need, and the garden would be happy too.

In the afternoon I finished a book that I started reading only last sunday, after Mollie had read it in just a day. A really special book, lent to her by a friend, and so I wanted to read it quickly so that it can go back. Oh my goodness. Powerful, heartwrenching and real, and so puts our 'lockdown' into perspective. I was brought to tears several times through the afternoon. If you haven't already, I urge you to read 'The Tattooist of Auschwitz'.

Jon varnished the kitchen door, and we played some vinyl records very loud. 'Alchemy' by Dire Straits was his first choice, then Neil Diamond (a live double album, £1 charity shop purchase of mine). Will play some more tomorrow.

At 6, Jon and I drove in to Cromer to see if any takeaways were open, and managed to get a curry. We felt we deserved a treat after 4 weeks indoors. Nothing against Mollie's carefully constructed meal plan which now spans 2 weeks, but we did enjoy the curry.

While waiting for our curry we had a wander around a silent empty Cromer. Down to the freezing front, but comforting to see the pier. I haven't been since the end of March. It is cordoned off, and so odd to see the place so empty. Every shop had an apology notice on the window, saying closed until further notice. Not that there was anyone around to read them.

An evening with my puzzle....Mollie is way ahead with her one (but it is definitely easier than mine) eh Moll! ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.