A hard working Sunday

Jon and I spent the morning at the allotment. We had lots of jobs planned, and I was just grateful for company. It is easier to work when there are other people with me, although the radio is always with me too.

My goal was to build a little cloche over my strawberries. I'd read it will bring them on. I had two big pieces of plastic, I had saved from Henry's new mattress. Jon collected me some lengths of hazel, which I made hoops with. Then I used all the knots I know (the only 4 I have ever needed) to tie and lash the sticks together. Clove hitch each piece of string to attach to the stick, the square lash them together and finish with a reef knot. After I had fitted the plastic sheets, I made two guys to go over, and fixed them with an adjustable slip knot (same as I use to start knitting) so that I can tighten it. I am so pleased with it, I plan to make another one, to grow lettuce and other salad under.

Jon did the hard stuff. Rotovating then tidying the whole allotment. We had moved our sheds and it was a bit like when you move furniture round in a room - it prompts you to properly tidy (Jon doesn't need much prompting)

Back home at 2pm we had lunch. Then I did more garden jobs, planted more seeds, while Mollie, I noticed, FINISHED her puzzle! Mine looks hardly started!!! I prepared everything for dinner. Nice roast pork, but still eating off our laps. We are thinking about how we can get change things to get the big table for us both to work at, leaving the small one for us to use as a dining room table.

Before I began my blip, I read through the blips of the blipfriends I follow. I was so sad to read one of my dear blip friends passed away yesterday. I never met the lady, or ever even spoke, but we exchanged comments on one another blips, and I just know we would have got on together. I feel so sad that I will now never get that chance. My thoughts are with her husband today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.