Marooned

I’d been thinking for some time about taking the boat over to the slip and having a bit of an inspection. Maybe even a scrape, if necessary. But the tides are getting more neapy over the next week or so, so I thought it’s today or it’s getting put off again. Looking at the tide, HW 4.6m at the back of 7am, I reckoned that by 8:45 there still be over 4m, so that would do me. Let’s just say a bit more would have helped as I came aground just short of actually getting against the wall (extra). Still, given the slip is canted in all directions, that meant I was fairly vertical at least. The SK saw my predicament and went and fetched some supplies which she slid down the boat hook to me. Bravo! 
By 10am I was able to get down the back steps and onto the slip for a day of hard work. A power washer rather than a stiff brush may have been a better idea. By 3pm I was back aboard, filthy and lounging. That tidal curve isn’t symmetrical y’know, so it was 5:45pm before I floated free again. What learnings. I know noo. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.