pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Tulip on Grey

In the summer months, the sun creeps into the foot of the yard around eleven o’clock.

This means that by midday there is usually enough warmth in the sun to make eating lunch al fresco an entirely pleasant experience. I’d planted a shed load of bulbs into pots around October last year, alongside some other flowers which my mother recommended (whose name escapes me – the flowers not mother, she’s called “mum”) and am now starting to reap the benefits of the tulips and the “mum flowers” coming through as the daffs start to fall back.

Whilst I love where I live, it is not for nothing that Kendal is referred to as The Auld Grey Town, so in my own little private corner of K-Town it is nice to have some bright colours bursting through to set against the tedium of the grey.

With my shuffled jogging playlist ringing in my ears, I had a great run prior to lunch as well and enjoyed the sights of a bustling town, although I must confess that I missed the excited chat and smiles of my little running buddy from the weekend!

There was a lot of happy smiling faces to be found out and about and, maybe I’m overlaying my own personal feelings onto this, it just feels like there is a little bit of hope in the air.

The house was very quiet this evening, but actually welcome. Following the chopping and changing over the Easter break, it’s nice to be back in the routine.

Also, how are we in the back end of April already? Our perception of the flow of time fascinates me, how I wish I had the kind of brain that could unpick the science behind it, but I’ve just started something new on Netflix, so will probably focus on that instead. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.