Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Ducklings

Yesterday on my walk with Xena I saw that the ducks on Black Pond had baby ducklings - they were newborn and tiny, so light that they were almost walking on the water rather than swimming. I took some photos yesterday but as I did not have a long lens with me so they were rubbish - today I went back with a long lens and took some photos of them. There are 12 ducklings and I hope they all survive. So many dogs swim in that pond but the ducklings did not seem concerned about the dogs.

Last night at camera club we had the most fascinating talk by a documentary photographer, on all aspects of documentary photography which also can include travel, street and conceptual photography. I realised that it requires more skill than I initially thought, street photography has to tell a story or else it is just a photo of some random subject in the street. Our chairman was not present as he was frantically reading through scripts for Line of Duty (see yesterday's blip for an explanation of that) and had so much work to do on them.

The house was very quiet with Tommy back at university - as he has not been back since the beginning of December it is quite a change. Gavin was at the office today so it was just Xena and me at home. It gave me a chance to choose, re-edit and upload my images for the next camera club competition which is on the subject of architecture. The problem is not my lack of images to choose from - it is in fact the opposite, I have too many images to choose from that I forget about half of them! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.