Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

In the pink

Gavin had a gap between his work meetings (on Zoom) so he came with me to the woods when I walked Xena. It's another beautiful sunny day, although the wind is a bit nippy. I noticed a definite increase in cars on the road again, the constructions workers building houses around here are all back at work. 

I then spent some time researching holiday villas to let in Cornwall or Devon for July or August, and found some stunning ones but then decided not to book anything because if we are allowed to drive somewhere by then we may be allowed to drive to Switzerland and we would prefer to go there to our apartment as we need to check on it. I don't think Switzerland has closed its borders and the UK has been remarkably slack in closing their borders. I read in The Times yesterday that there have been 545 private jets landing in the UK since lockdown was imposed, arriving from Spain, France, Germany and America. And of course there is no quarantine imposed for any passengers landing at UK airports - at Heathrow there are about 60 flights landing each day, which quite frankly is ridiculous if they are not going to go into quarantine.

I then spent an extraordinary amount of time making a portrait out of text on Photoshop (part of our camera group 'homework'). I have got some pleasing results so far but I would like to try again and improve the result so it is an ongoing project.

But now I had better start the ironing and think about dinner - I try to have 'Meatless Mondays' but the boys look quite horrified at the mere mention of that!

I took this photo for the Monday Mono challenge but then I thought it looked so much better in colour, the pinks were so pretty I could not present it as a mono image.

Last night I really enjoyed the movie Tolkien on Sky TV, I am trying to watch anything other than the news at the moment.

The extra made me laugh, it's by the political cartoonist Zapiro in SA and it is so true - everyone thinks they know more than the scientists and governments' medical advisers because they read it on Face book, WhatsApp etc!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.