Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Rush hour Chaos!

The Queensferry Road, which for those who don't know, is the main road North out of Edinburgh, was at a standstill in this evening's rush hour. They had installed 3 way traffic lights plus a temporary pedestrian light in the dip at Blackhall at just before 5pm this evening. By the time I came back through at 6.30, nothing had happened and the queues were still there. The only person in the area, that I could see, was the driver of the lorry that had set it all up. He took pictures of his set up then went back and sat in his van. I do understand that urgent work needs to be done, but the timing of this was awful.
I've had a rushing around day today. Took the girls to school and nursery first thing then went a tour of the garden centres looking for Lemon Verbena plants, they all agreed I was a week to ten days too early. I'll be heading out again at the end of next week by the sounds of it unless I can find out by phone whether they are in or not. I like to use the leaves in a hot drink. I did manage though, to pick up various other plants and seeds including some very pretty violas. While I was there, I visited the bakery in the farm shop at Mortonhall. Whatever you do, do not buy their chocolate brownies (if you do there might not be any left for me!!!) They were outrageously good, I also got a walnut loaf to enjoy.
From there I went to my physio appointment. He's very pleased with the progress of my knee and has given me permission to try restarting the couch to 5k training. It would be nice if I could get back to where I was a year ago.
Back home, Katy phoned to say she had got caught up in the traffic delays I mentioned above, so I rushed out to pick up Isobel from nursery. I found two other sets of three way temporary lights on the way to slow me down, so I just made it in time at three minutes to six, the skin of my teeth. I thought Isobel might be grumpy about not being picked up by her mum but she was pleased to see me which was nice.
After a very rushed dinner it was time for bridge. For those who understand I was very happy to make an overtrick when I was in five clubs doubled and redoubled. Very satisfying, I don't often redouble!
There were noticeably more cars on the road today and the shops are all getting busier too. Its good to see most folk are wearing masks and being careful about distance. More restrictions are lifting next week, keep safe everybody.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.