Vaccine Day

Today was our big day! So into town for vaccine, shopping and lunch. In the end we got the Pfizer vaccine, but I wasn't worried which one they were going to offer me - I was just happy to be vaccinated.  Now we seem to have a two week wait before the vaccine has significant effect, and in 6 weeks we get dose two, and shortly after that full effect.
Before going to town I sat outside on our deck, drinking my tea, listening to the birds singing, chattering or screeching, and checking how much quickly the snow is melting. I feel very lucky to live somewhere I can take in all this nature, anytime I want.
An article I read recently in New Scientist, still available on the open section of their web site, explains how access to nature boosts our mental health.  Research seems to show that about 5 hours a week of exposure produces the maximum benefit, and there can't be many weeks that both Jan and I don't reach that level of exposure!
Another reason for this slightly distorted 180° panorama is that our sunny weather is due to end. It seems that when we wake up tomorrow morning snow will be falling. Maybe they'll be a whiter version of this photo tomorrow?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.