Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sunrise at Bushy Park

Last night as I went to bed I decided to stop being a wimp and get up early the next morning to go photograph the sunrise at Bushy Park. As I usually get to sleep just before midnight, and my alarm went off at 4.45am this morning, you will see why I was being a wimp about it - I don't cope well on so little sleep. 

I had my camera bag packed and ready so I was out the house by 5am. In my excitement to go there I forgot that the park only opens to vehicles at 6am, several minutes after sunrise which was no good to me. I managed to find parking outside the park and then walked quite a way into the park - I never saw anyone else at that early time, and it did momentarily concern me that there I was, all alone in the dark in the park with a camera bag full of very expensive equipment...

I started photographing the sunrise which was nothing special - although for a few minutes just after sunrise the sky turned golden and as I had my long lens I could zoom in to all that colour - the long lens also compresses the background so the colour is intensified.

After that I spent ages watching some deer backlit by the sun - I have added an extra of a crow pecking out the fur of a deer who did not seem to mind - the fur was all lit up in the sun. I also watched a heron fishing right at the edge of the pond amongst the reeds so I had to lean right over to get some shots. 

It was a good morning, although my hands got so cold I eventually left at about 7am as they would not function anymore, I could barely press the shutter button. I got home and had a hot shower to warm up but it took me most of the morning to get warm again. 

I walked Xena, did grocery shopping, went off to another village to collect some items ordered - seems like if you get up that early you can have a very productive day! I will be knackered tonight though!

If you are interested I have put some more images on Flickr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.