JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

The mysterious Maggie Wall.

Had a peaceful morning. Clipped the box ball which hasn't been done for two years than began to research plants for my shady north facing front garden. Was enjoying it so much I didn't want to go stravaiging but, in the afternoon I pulled myself together and went off on back roads towards Crieff.   Stopped at Dunning to photograph Maggie Wall's monument which commemorates her burning as a witch.  The trouble is there is no record of her in the area or of her being tried and executed anywhere.  About six witches were tried in the Dunning area so maybe this is a memorial  to all those who were accused and tried and executed in the notorious 17th century witch trials. Flowers and all sorts of mementos had been left on the cairn.
Didn't take many photos as the sunshine was bright and rather harsh with some haze but I enjoyed driving round territory I hadn't seen for about a year.  Reached Crieff  and things took a downturn. I needed the loo and discovered I'd come out without a mask.  However there was an upside.  I drove home on A roads and dual carriageway and a tiny bit of motorway so refreshed my driving skills. One thing I won't do is forget my mask again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.