Dry feet

Heroes from the Water of Leith Trust (I assume) were out today cleaning up the river just upstream from the Gormley. I briefly paused my walk long enough to snatch a picture. As my phone camera automatically takes motion pictures, you don’t get the full effect of the river flowing and people moving in the river that I get on the phone.

I was in the middle of a day long workshop, which I had to leave at one point to catch up with some emails. I do feel under pressure from all sides, but at least I’m still getting out and walking. I also made quite a few visits to the balcony, which was lovely and sunny. It truly was a glorious day. My walk took me eventually back to Victoria Park, and I did an extra circuit, soaking up the sun and watching the people sunning themselves.

I’ve decided to change gyms, and leave Projekt42, which is not re-opening with premises before the autumn. Consequently, I would lose the very good deal I currently have, but really I won’t get value for it over the summer, and - moreover - I do actually want to go to a gym and use equipment, even if there aren’t going to be indoor classes for a while. That’s another reason for leaving Projekt42, because their preferred mode from now until the autumn is outdoor classes on Leith Links, and that just doesn’t do it for me. It’s a bit too far to walk every time, and a bit too close to cycle.... Meanwhile, I have the residue of an Edinburgh Leisure special deal 12 day pass which will restart again (from scratch I think, looking at the email) when EL reopen on 26 April. I’ll use that, and see how I feel. I may join the EL gym. Others have mentioned Pure Gym, but that’s a long trek from here compared to EL.

This is just one of the quite small things that I need to get sorted out, but overall they all add up. A little things have felt big today, as I had a terrible night’s sleep last night... Awake until about 2am and awake again before 7am... I’ve felt pretty ropey all day, and it does have the effect of magnifying small worries. So the combination of slightly annoying domestica with rather too much work is getting me down a bit at present.

But it’s hard to be too depressed when it’s been wall to wall sunshine all day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.