Wild Wednesday ...

... Blue Jay ... again.

As I mentioned yesterday the Blue Jays have returned to our area ... and I couldn't be happier.  I had taken other pictures today but I wanted to celebrate these beautiful birds today ... and a white-throated sparrow!

Here's a few interesting facts about Blue Jays ... at least I think they're interesting:

1. The pigment in Blue Jay feathers is melanin, which is brown. The blue color is caused by scattering light through modified cells on the surface of the feather barbs.
2. The black bridle across the face, nape, and throat varies extensively and may help Blue Jays recognize one another.
3. The Blue Jay frequently mimics the calls of hawks, especially the Red-shouldered Hawk. These calls may provide information to other jays that a hawk is around, or may be used to deceive other species into believing a hawk is present.

We had a surprise happening today that I will explain tomorrow ... but it's very exciting! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.