Orange Tip

I've clocked up a fair bit of mileage this week so I decided to have a day staying closer to home.  Whilst it was still a bit chilly, I went through my Czech lessons and today's 'very useful on holiday'  learning was; Kam jedes s tim jadernym odpadem?' which translated means, 'Where are you going with that nuclear waste?'

Lessons completed, I decided we needed a Friday treat so I popped down to the village to Yorkshire Treats and picked up a vanilla slice for Tony and a flake brownie for me, then we sat outside with our cuppas in the warm sunshine.  Treats eaten I set about oiling the two garden benches, my twice a year task, and before I knew it, it was lunchtime.

After lunch I put another coat on both seats and then took out the lawn mower to cut the grass at the back of the terrace.  It takes a while because one neighbour's mower is in the repair shop and our immediate neighbours don't have a mower, and we have a long strip, so there is a bit to do but I do like it when it looks neat again.  I've been leaving the dandelions for the insects as they are a good early Spring food source.

Grass cut, I hoicked out a few creeping buttercups from the border and then reckoned it was time for a cuppa and one of Tony's jam tarts.  Half an hour of recorder practice followed and now I'm ready to think about what to cook for dinner.  I have an aubergine which needs using, so ratatouille??  It always make me think of Fawlty Towers!  Who put Basil in the ratatouille?!

This orange tip was fluttering up and down whilst I was out in the garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.