Local Wander

Our mini neighbours have gone in to business selling the eggs from their chickens Izzy, Lizzy and Batman, so we took a walk up the street first thing and bought half a dozen which made excellent scrambled egg at lunchtime.

Another neighbour was grouting his flags and kindly gave me his left over mortar so that I could fill in some of the holes in the patio.

After lunch I took off for a walk.  Motor traffic was busy in the village, but once on to the footpath to Hunter Hill I had the moor to myself. I walked up through the old quarries which suffered from fire a couple of years ago.  They are now covered with new low level growth, which reminds me of the red weed in War of the Worlds!

Back across the Moor above our house, by the stone circle and down through the woodland of the valley with the late afternoon glancing through the trees, simple pleasures.  Tony had the kettle on as I walked through the door, perfect timing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.