Listening to the Ramblers

I know, ist way too late to write fluently. And I am not going to sum up all those things I waisted my time on in the course of this day. The radio plays in the background. I heard very old tunes from the Ramblers and Coleman Hawkins. Which reminded me of my schooltime years during the 50ies.
The Ramblers…In the overcontroling teachers family I was born to live in, music was forbidden. Father being the sole master of the radio. Only he had the key to switch the small receiver on. In order to listen to a religious Sunday broadcast. Or to a commentator of the actual political situation. During the evening after he read the paper –never touch it before he would have unfolded and read the fresh uncreased pages – the livingroom was closed as he had to do his correction- and preparationwork. Absolute silence was prescribed.
Even for my mother, who was a schoolteacher too, in Chemistry. She had to  take care for her schoolwork at the dinertable in the backroom. Childrens bedtime was ordered at 8 pm. All lights out! Well, I learned to escape the prohibition to read in bed, by hiding myself in my small old brown wardrobe. Reading squatting with a torchlight. What? Borrowed comicbooks, which were absolutely forbidden for pedagogical reasons. Buck Danny, you will remember the famous fighter pilot. But now back to the Ramblers.
How to communicate with your schoolfriends on the modern Music they were listening to on their own radios. Their own radios in their own room…! Can you imagine! My schoolmate Jacob knew how to build your own cristal-receiver. And our classmate Otto who happened to live next door to Jacob build a complete receiver with four bulbs. Ok, he had an older brother to help him, But we both started with the cristal. And it worked. Finally  we could listen to jazzmusic in the darkness of our sleepingroom. Coleman Hawkins!
Of course we went on and planned  to build a portable receiver with one bulb. But that is another story with severe consequences later on. Next time I will tell you how I build my one-bulb receiver. So you could listen to the Dutch Swing College Band or the Ramblers. Cool!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.