@ South East Window I Saw A Bride in White

After a long day of work, I felt the need to go for a walk. Though the sun had some warmth now and then, a cold wind kept blowing from the North. I decided to visit the sheep. I had not seen them for quite a long time.
I took the foresttrack downhill just around the corner. And there it was: the fine fresh spring green veil hanging in the trees. She loved that so much. As much as the snowbells coming up after the snow melted away. As much or more, never mind. I can feel her singing in my heart walking down to cross over to the Peacevalley brook.
To my astonishment the stream was flowing big. As if yesterday it had been raining whole day. The sound of the splashing and mummering falls is so profound. Unfortunately it is still to cold to sit down on a stone. And hover between dear memories of those unique brook&falls from my childhood experience: to name only one.
Le Petit Ruisseau, streaming down into the Semois-River in the Belgian Ardennes. I’l never forget the intense happiness I felt seeing and listening into the living melody of the rustling, whirling shallow waterstream over the pebblestones.
Meanwhile I kept walking on my way to the Eastern Riversidewalk. On the left here and there the fine whites of a blossoming hawthorn touched my heart. Near the sheepshed I halted. But the three strange friends kept their indifferent distance. So on I went. Until upon arriving at South East Window an amazing scene took my breath. Someone in a white dress standing near the waterfront, posing for a photographer. Normally this area is completely deserted. There is hardly a footpath to go. Perhaps in summer you will meet a fisherman.
I did not want to intrude into that intimate party, like you could do at the seaside in Holland.  So magical was this simple moment and so enchanting. It could have been My White Angel over there between the branches. Lets say it was a young bride dressed in white.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.