Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Uptown

(23/4/21)
I am a day late posting this... it was a non-stop day yesterday!

G has a lot on her plate and was at her desk early. She stopped for us to "pop" out mainly to renew a book at the school library. As we were close to the Mall of the Emirates, we popped in there again. I thought I might have found a way to convert the Mall gift voucher I received for my birthday into cash, but alas, it has unspecified restrictions. No problem, I will keep on chugging away at it. Back home via the post office for lunch and for G to get back to the things she is busy working on.

G had the first of three Iftars with her Forget-me-Not group today. She needed to be there early, so I dropped her off. This made me a bit late for AWANA - which was good. Then straight into T@3 which was also good. I was able to have a quick chat with friend Eileen about the Lodge before having to get ready to leave to collect Diane.

A mutual ex-colleague organised a get-together on her patio. Just five of us with G joining us after she finished. The evening was warmer and more humid than we would have liked and conversation had to pause every time a plane flew over, but the food and company were great. I have to admit, despite the noise and disruption, it is still exciting to see 777s and A380s fly right over you. There were other models as well, but I couldn't readily identify them. I wish now that I had attempted a few shots or made a video.

We chatted happily until well past midnight and then there was more than a little reluctance to pose for these pictures. I got home too late and too full of food to contemplate downloading pics. There's more excitement to mention. In January, we helped Shabnam's son identify a secondhand DSLR for a university project. His purchase came with a light that he does not need, so last night he passed it on to me! Very nice.

Our weekend has begun! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.