Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Flower Friday: Orchids

Well, despite yesterday's late night, we were up early today.

I ran the hoover through the flat first thing. I can't wait for Nara to come back which should be soon as the UAE is closing its border with India due to their exponential rise in COVID cases. If he doesn't get back in the next couple of days, it's going to be months before we see him again.

We made it to a special Zoom service with the Salvation Army at 10 am. It was good to "meet" the interim officers who are here for just two more months. They have not done an online service before so are learning as they go along.

We then attended our regular Friday morning service at 11 am. When that got over, I was back on Zoom again at 12 as I offered to do a quick training session with the SA officers - just to help them get to grips with the app and highlight its features.

We were both more than ready for lunch and a little siesta. G had a book club meet from 4-6. They were discussing an e-book called Ikegai - The Japanese Secret to a Long and Happy Life. From what I could hear, it created a lot of discussion and interaction. I used the time to do some prep for a bible study I've got to lead tomorrow afternoon with my youth group. Lastly, there was the ironing from the previous week to finish. 

I was glad to finally get to my laptop at 9:30. G had found a series on Netflix about old couples around the world who have been married for decades and are still very much in love with each other! SWEET. They will have seen centuries worth of change in the decades that they've been together!

My blip is of the orchids that we bought to mark the tenth anniversary of my Dad's passing. We haven't bought fresh flowers in years, so these are a real treat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.